top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe English Society

Hungry For More Than Dust

By Hannah Rethman

 

Why am I starving?

I feel that I only delude myself

even if I taste real life,

it will never satiate my hunger forever


I was dust, I eat dust, I will return to dust

even if things make me happy

even if I laugh and smile

even if I have friends I never had before

even if I have a family who loves me

there is no answer in any of them

though they can give me the who, what, and where

nothing tells me why or how


I look up but the sky is closed off with clouds

I look down but the earth is cold and hard

a brutal breeze stings my face

flowers die and are forgotten

the sun dares not show its face for long

because it cannot stand to look at me

to face my angry questions


I look around again and see many reasons

not to be happy, but to be proud

everything is so carefully designed

and how are we so blind to beauty?

what does He gain from being gracious to us

while we uselessly squander our gifts?


the least I can do, perhaps, is to love life and its creator

even if it all confuses me beyond words

I will always muster the stupid courage to say

whatever all this is, I suppose I do love it


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page