top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe English Society

Never to see you

Updated: May 12, 2021

By Gabrielle Truax

 

Why did you pry things out of me?

If you didn't want to know?

If later, you were only going to humiliate me?

I know you didn't know what to do.

You were trying to help,

And you did a little.

That’s something I can say for you.


But you changed your story.

I bet now you're sorry.

Sorry that you opened up

The can of worms too quickly.

You didn't know.

You got more than you could handle.

I bet you wished you had left well

Enough alone.


You don't want the drama anymore,

You certainly have your own.

And I've had quite enough of your helping.

All I can take for one lifetime, thank you.

What good was your being there,

If I didn't feel safe to talk to you?

You were a self-martyred friend,

But you're right about one thing,

Never was I yours.


I should have known better,

After years of bullying.

I hate that I was naive.

Thought that we could be close.

For the longest time that's

All I ever wanted.

That's why you crushed me.

Now the only thing I want

Is never to see you.


Because you haven't changed.

And yes, I just want an apology,

But I'll never get one.

So now all I want is to stop thinking about this.

But I can't because I'm forced to see you.

I could move on if the same old stuff

Wasn't always in my way.


I'm not mad,

As long as I don't remember.

But your actions keep reminding me.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page